Board Leadership

The American Board of Ophthalmology is led by Chief Executive Officer George B. Bartley, M.D., an ABO diplomate since 1986, who actively participates in the Maintenance of Certification program. Day-to-day operations are handled by staff located just outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The work of the Board is overseen by 19 Board Directors; 17 of whom are clinicians and academicians with specific ophthalmologic skills and a broad geographic distribution. Two Public Directors represent the patient voice. Board Directors are chosen for a four-year term and one additional four-year term is permitted.

To develop its content and administer its examinations, the board relies on volunteers from within the profession of ophthalmology who give of their time and expertise to serve as Examiners, item writers, and content development panelists.