Board of Directors

Directorship requires a strong commitment to the mission and principles of the American Board of Ophthalmology. The Board depends on Directors devoting sufficient time and energy to the responsibilities assigned to them. Directors typically serve a four-year term renewable for an additional four years and contribute to initial and continuous certification programs in a variety of ways, including but not limited to serving as subject matter experts; developing quality, safety, and performance improvement assessments; and assisting in the administration of ABO examinations. For more information, please review the roles and responsibilities of board directors and public directors.

2023 Board of Directors
Bartley Lauer Gedde
George B. Bartley, MD
Chief Executive Officer
St. Simons Island, GA
Andreas K. Lauer, MD
Portland, OR
Steven J. Gedde, MD
Vice Chair
Miami, FL
Acers-Warn Albanis Bowie
Ann Acers-Warn, MD, MBA
Lawton, OK
Chris V. Albanis, MD
Chicago, IL
Esther M. Bowie, MD
Hershey, PA
Epley 19 Fountain
K. David Epley, MD
Kirkland, WA
Julie M. Falardeau, MD
Portland, OR
Tamara R. Fountain, MD
Deerfield, IL
Grossniklaus Jeng Kikkawa
Hans E. Grossniklaus, MD, MBA
Atlanta, GA
Bennie H. Jeng, MD, MS
Philadelphia, PA
Don O. Kikkawa, MD, MBA
La Jolla, CA
Menke Nehls Ward
Anne M. Menke, RN, PhD
Public Director
Inverness, CA
Sarah M. Nehls, MD
Madison, WI

Lorrayne Ward, MBA, MPP
Public Director
Austin, TX

Warren 20 Wright
Keith A. Warren, MD
Overland Park, KS
Robert E. Wiggins, MD
Asheville, NC
Martha M. Wright, MD
Minneapolis, MN
Click here for a list of Emeritus Directors who have previously served on the American Board of Ophthalmology's Board of Directors.