Periodic Ophthalmic Review Tests (PORTs)

PORTs promote lifelong learning, assist in preparation for the computer-based exam. The ABO offers three PORTs to all diplomates free of charge. PORT modules are optional self-assessment activities for all diplomates are not required for the completion of MOC. 

Practice Emphasis Areas

  • Cataract/Anterior Segment
  • Comprehensive Ophthalmology
  • Cornea/External Disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Neuro-ophthalmology and Orbit
  • Oculoplastics and Orbit
  • Pediatric Ophthalmology/Strabismus
  • Refractive Management/Intervention
  • Retina/Vitreous
  • Uveitis*

*Each topic area has three versions, except Uveitis, which has only two.

Diplomates are encouraged to select the practice emphasis areas in the same topic(s) they plan to select for the DOCK Examination. The ABO does not limit the number of PORTs a diplomate chooses to take before their DOCK, though each PORT after the initial three free modules costs $100.

The content of the PORT is reflective of the content of the DOCK Examination. For both examinations, the MOC Content Outline serves as the basis for the questions..

Completing the PORT

The PORT is available online, on-demand. Once a PORT is started, diplomates have 30 days to complete it. A diplomate may complete only one PORT at a time. During the 30-day timeframe, diplomates can access and re-access the PORT at any time. Diplomates will receive instant feedback on responses and overall performance that includes references to the general subject area for each missed question to provide general feedback about possible areas of knowledge gaps. The percentage correct needed to successfully complete each PORT is 80%.

Claiming CME/SACME Credit for PORTs

Upon successful completion of a PORT module with a passing score of 80%, diplomates will be prompted to claim 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits TM.

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the American Board of Ophthalmology.  The American Academy of Ophthalmology is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education to physicians. 
The American Academy of Ophthalmology designates this enduring material for a maximum of 2AMA PRA Category 1 Credits TM.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with extent of their participation in the activity.