Evidence for MOC
Studies link MOC to improved outcomes and better patient care, and research supports the learning methods used in MOC activities. How has MOC changed your practice?

Get Paid for MOC
The PQRS: MOC incentive program provides the opportunity for you to earn an extra 0.5% bonus payment from CMS for meeting certain MOC and PQRS reporting requirements. Click here to learn more.

Maintenance of Certification

ABMS Gold Star - Click for more infoAbout MOC

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is a patient-centered lifelong learning and continuous improvement process adopted by all 24 American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) member boards. For the benefit of patients and the profession, the MOC program:

  • establishes and maintains high standards for patient care in ophthalmology;
  • provides physicians with the means to continually assess and improve their ability to meet these standards;
  • ensures that physicians are being assessed by reliable and valid measures to continually improve patient care.

The goal of MOC is to continually set the standards of excellence in the quality of ophthalmic care by focusing on six general competencies integral to quality care: patient care, medical knowledge, practice-based learning and improvement, interpersonal and communication skills, professionalism, and systems-based practice. These competencies were established by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the umbrella organization for the country's 24 recognized medical specialty boards, and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). The ABO also recognizes a seventh competency in surgical skills.

The American Board of Ophthalmology's MOC process is the only Maintenance of Certification process for eye care specialists officially recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Read more about the requirements for ABO MOC.